5 Hot Miles

Yesterday was 5 mile day! It was beautiful outside, but it was HOT when I decided to head out at around 2pm. It is officially way too hot to run in the middle of the day anymore this summer. I don’t mind the hot weather any other time, but the blazing sun can make for a tough run!

My run went fairly slow because of the heat, and I felt especially tired during the last half of the mileage. I was running on the roads that wind through the wildlife refuge though, so I kept myself busy enjoying the nature! The sound of my feet even scared off some wild turkeys! After I finished, I spent a lot of time stretching out on a pier that I like to go to at the end of my runs. I’m still nervous about getting injured again, so I’m trying to be proactive and have been really taking my time with stretching during and after my runs.

IMG_20130527_002426

Later that evening, my dad finally arrived and we started up the grill for dinner! I’m a Wisconsin girl through and through. To me, there is nothing like brats and corn on the grill. I could eat it everyday!

We spent much of today hiking, and it felt good to loosen up my legs from yesterday’s run. It was a perfect Memorial Day; sunny and 80 degrees! The light breeze and the shade from the trees kept us cool enough to hike without getting too warm. We had some great photo opportunities!

P1020464

Afterwards, we enjoyed some wine tasting at two local wineries. It has been a great long weekend, which was much needed before another crazy-busy upcoming week!

If you would like to donate to my personal fundraising page for the American Cancer Society’s DetermiNation program, you can do so here. To find out more about why I’m running the Chicago Marathon through ACS DetermiNation, you can read my first post here. Thanks for your support!

Leave a Reply

