Pike Lake Trail Run

So as you all know, two weekends ago I was in Wisconsin celebrating Maddie’s wedding. Maddie is a runner too, and while we were at the rehearsal, she officially roped me into doing a half marathon trail run with her on Saturday, July 13th! It’s part of the Dances with Dirt series and it will be in Devil’s Lake, WI. Maddie did the race last year and prepped me on how difficult it was, but they had a ton of fun, so I’m really excited about it! It will be my first half ever, and it since I’ve attempted to get to a half two other times before, I’m hoping that the third time’s a charm!

Since I’ve been training almost exclusively on road, I decided that my 8 mile long run should be on a trail to help get myself back into the swing of trail running. Dan and my brother, Eric, and I were in Wisconsin again this weekend for my cousin Nicole’s wedding, so before the weekend I asked them to join me on my Sunday long run. Eric and I decided we should go back to Pike Lake State Park where we used to train for Cross Country in high school since we hadn’t run there in a long time.

We had almost too much fun at Nicole and Marty’s wedding on Saturday! There were quite a few mustaches to choose from in the photo booth…

IMG_0514

Then on Sunday, my brother and I got up bright and early to eat a hearty breakfast with our grandma before our run. We got to the trails around 10am and started off fast! Those boys have way longer legs than I do! After spending so many weeks (…or, should I say, just short of 2 years) running on flat Illinois roads, those trails were a wake-up call! Holy cow…they kicked our butts. It was sunny and 90 degrees outside, so it was pretty uncomfortable in the unshaded areas. Dan and Eric stopped at around 4 miles and I continued on to finish my 8. I wound up going out too far and my mileage ended up at 8.56, but overall I felt pretty good considering the change of terrain! I definitely have some work to do before I get to the half marathon!

Leave a Reply

