The dreaded 9…

Dum dum dummmmmmm…..

The dreaded 9 has officially arrived.

I have been worrying about this run for about 6 weeks. The 9 mile mark was my turning point for the worst during the past two training plans that I was working on. It is also the longest I have ever run, so there is a lot riding on this run! Not only have I been looking forward to getting up to this point again, but I have also been working to make sure that I don’t get injured again.

Let me back up and tell you a little about this crazy week…

First of all, this weekend was ANOTHER Relay For Life weekend (the final one!) and we had a great event. Those events sure know how to tire me out! I was so tired on Saturday from being awake more than 24 hours that as soon as I got home at 9 am, I collapsed on the couch and slept until 5:30pm. I planned to drive to Wisconsin for my week off over the fourth of July right away on Sunday morning. But, after sleeping all day, my body would not let me go back to sleep for “nighttime.” So I made a spontaneous decision and started the 7 hour drive at 11:00pm! I got to Dan’s house at 6am and collapsed once again into a long sleep. When I woke up, we made our way to Sam and Jason’s house for a cookout!

Well, after the week/weekend that I had, my Sunday long run was NOT going to happen. I was exhausted, and with so much riding on this week’s run, I decided it was best to listen to my body, rest up, and do it on Monday instead. This plan actually worked out great since the Dances with Dirt Half Marathon is in two weeks on a Saturday, so for the next two weeks my long runs will be 6 days apart instead of 7.

Today, though, I did it! I finished the 9 miles and I felt great. I ran an out-and-back near Dan’s house in the middle of the day again (why do I keep doing that to myself?) so it was pretty warm outside. The hills are getting easier though! I am barely flinching when I get to the bottom of one (especially after last week’s trail run).  My knee is feeling pretty good for the most part, too, so I’m excited! I have been keeping up with my physical therapy exercises and I know that it’s helping. I’m just hoping that I can keep up the uninjured status for the rest of the week to get ready for 11 on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

